Information Technology News


“ITPL 2019” Cricket Tournament organized by IT Department Featured

Information Technology department organized an underarm cricket tournament for its staff, titled “ITPL-2019” (IT department Premier League) from January 7th to January 19th, 2019. The main objective of hosting the tournament is to build relationship between staff/human resources, in order to improve team-work attitude, to be free from stress and use free time for physical fitness. The tournament was formally inaugurated by Dr. Fatma Al-Shanfari, Head of IT department on 7th of February, 2019.

The playing staff were divided into five teams (DARBAT BREEZE, MIRBAT RIDERS, MUGSAYL RIDERS, SAMHARAM CHALLENGERS and TAQAH TITANS). Each team played four league matches and therefore based on the points and run-rate three teams (MUGSAYL RIDERS, SAMHARAM CHALLENGERS and TAQAH TITANS) reached to the second round. MUGSAYL RIDERS and SAMHARAM CHALLENGERS won the important matches and reached the finals, which was held on January 19 (Saturday), 4.30 PM at College IT ground.

Due to excellent team efforts and impressive performance, SAMHARAM CHALLENGERS won in the final match and became the Champion in the third cricket tournament “ITPL-2019” and received the “WINNING TROPHY”. The winning team is composed of Mr. C. Praveen Kumar (Captain), Dr. Abhishek Dubey, Mr. Suresh Amarayasamy, Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Mishra, Mr. Muni Balaji Thumu, Dr. Ujjwal Agarwal, Mr. Mohammad Mushtaq Ahmed, Mr. Muhammad Azeem Qureshi. Winners were also awarded with individual cups.

The runner up team, MUGSAYL RIDERS received the “RUNNERS TROPHY” and it is composed of Mr. Bramha Dutta Pandey (Captain), Mr. Zahid Mahmood, Mr. Mohammed Sulaiman, Dr. G Vadivel, Mr. A Dhandapani, Mr. H Thajuddin, Mr. Shijo Pushpan. Runners were also awarded with individual medals. In-addition, the highest scorer award was given to Mr. Mohammed Arshad Ali and highest wicket taker award was given to Mr. Suresh Amarayasamy.

Prize distribution ceremony was conducted on Tuesday, 22nd January 2019 @ IT Building. Dr. Abhishek Dubey, the core-coordinator of the “ITPL 2019” gave an introduction about the event and welcomed the chief guests and the participants. Mr. Praveen Kumar, Lecturer of IT presented a statistical report about the tournament. Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Darwish Abdullah Al-Kalbani was the chief guest who graced the function with greetings and awarded the prizes and trophies. He shared his happiness and special greetings to the department and staff for organizing such events for motivating teamwork & personality skills. Dr. Fatma Al-Shanfari, Head of IT department appreciated the dedicated efforts of the organizing team and greeted all the players of the tournament by awarding the trophies and medals.

Dr. Abhishek Dubey, the core-coordinator had harmonized all the members and sub-committees for the smooth conduct of the matches. During the valedictory, the coordinator thanked all the contributors who helped in conducting the tournament a grand success.

The department of IT wholeheartedly thank and appreciate the sponsors DHOFAR BEVERAGES AND FOOD STUFF, SWEETS OF OMAN, DHOFAR TECHNICAL TRADING AND SERVICES (DTS) SALALAH, organizing committee, head of the sections, section team players, captains, vice captains, umpires, leg/line umpires, scorers, refreshment team, ground preparatory team, poster/sticker designers, photographers, Admin & Maintenance staff and all other sub-committees for their tireless effort to make this big event a successful and entertaining one. The department also acknowledges all the staff members of IT and guests from other departments who took part in this tournament in a very sportive manner. IT department specially thank the College Dean Dr. Anwar Amir Al-Ismaili, Assistant Dean-Academic Affairs Dr. Said Omar Al Mashiki, and Assistant Dean for Admin and Finance Mr. Ammar Al Shanfari who encouraged and supported the department to conduct this tournament.

Organizing Committee: Dr. Abhishek Dubey, Dr. Wilfred Blessing N.R, Mr. T. Karthikeyan, Mr. Suresh Amarayasamy, Mr. C. Praveen Kumar, Mr. Suresh Kumar P., Mr. K. Subramanian, Dr. Abdul Gaffar, Mr. Sanjeev Reddy, Mr. Mohammed Sulaiman, Mr. Mohammed Atheeq, Mr. Bramha Dutta Pandey, Mr. Devarajan Veerasamy, Mr. Mohammed Arshad Ali

Log in